Home|Alumni Login|Contact Us

IPJ Award Winners 2013

IPJ Director Joe Starrs (right) presents The Collegiate Journalism Award to Polina Marinova of The University of Georgia in 2012.

We are now accepting submissions for our 2015 awards! 

The Institute on Political Journalism presents three cash prizes annually for the best newspaper, magazine, online news site or blog stories in three categories: investigative, economic and collegiate. All awards will be presented during a ceremony at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C. on June 19, 2015.

Professional writers or writing teams may apply for either the Clark Mollenhoff Award for Investigative Reporting or the Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting. Deadline: March 20, 2015

Collegiate journalists may submit an entry for the Collegiate Journalism Award. Deadline: April 3, 2015.

Congratulations to our 2014 winners!

Clark Mollenhoff Award for Investigative Reporting: John Diedrich and Raquel Rutledge of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
Diedrich and Rutledge's hard-hitting series “Backfire” uncovered deep flaws and a profound lack of government oversight in undercover Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives stings across the country. Read the series online.

Award for Excellence in Economic Reporting: Bloomberg News Service 
A Bloomberg team of reporters wrote a seven-part series on the brave new world of “Big Data” software services. Lead reporter Aki Ito along with reporters Jeff KearnsCraig Torres and Ilan Kolet explored how technology is transforming the economy, bringing about changes in hiring, spending and investment decisions-even the efficacy of Federal Reserve policy. Read the series online.

Collegiate Journalism Award: Jeremy Diamond of George Washington University
Diamond won with three separate entries. The first story dealt with allegations that George Washington University (GW) officials misrepresented their admissions and financial aid polices for years. The other two entries looked at GW’s efforts to help veterans and the growing clout of fraternities on campus. Read the stories online.

Collegiate Journalism Award Runner-Up: Sarah Smith of the University of Pennsylvania 
Smith’s entry shed light on shortcomings of how the university handled students who say they have been victims of a sexual assault and who experience mental health problems, as well as the bureaucracy that students must navigate after an unexpected break in academic work due to the assault. Read the stories online.

All awards are sponsored by IPJ, an intensive summer study and internship opportunity in Washington, D.C. This eight-week program is designed for students looking for professional, hands-on training in print or broadcast journalism.

IPJ is an academic internship program sponsored by The Fund for American Studies. Each year, approximately 100 of the nation's brightest college journalists are chosen to spend the summer in Washington, D.C. They intern at major news organizations throughout the nation's capital, attend site briefings at various government institutions, hear lectures from Washington's leading reporters and editors and take courses in economics, ethics and leadership at George Mason University.

For more information on the Institute on Political Journalism Awards, please contact IPJ Director Joe Starrs at 202-986-0384 or jstarrs@TFAS.org.


Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint / EmailGet a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Donate Today


1706 New Hampshire Ave NW,  Washington DC 20009 
Tel 202-986-0384 | Fax 202-986-0390 | info@TFAS.org

COPYRIGHT 2013 The FUND for AMERICAN STUDIES All Rights Reserved
www.TFASinternational.org   www.DCinternships.org