Home|Alumni Login|Contact Us



David R. Jones Awards 
David R. and Corinne W. Jones Scholarship Fund 
Institute on Philanthropy & Voluntary Service

2013 David R. Jones Award recipient Spike Mendelsohn meets with TFAS alumni and staff following his acceptance remarks at the IPVS Awards Luncheon.

Award Recipient Robert L. Woodson, Sr.  gives remarks at the 2007 IPVS Grant Luncheon.

Robert Understein (r.) accepts the 2008 David R. Jones Lifetime Service Award from TFAS Trustee Fred Barnes.


David R. Jones Leadership in Philanthropy Award

In 1998, The Fund for American Studies established the David R. Jones Center for Leadership in Philanthropy to conduct programs to prepare people for roles in philanthropy and the nonprofit sector. 

The Fund bestows the David R. Jones Leadership in Philanthropy Award annually to recognize outstanding individuals who promote the American traditions of philanthropy, free-enterprise and individual responsibility. Each year a recipient is honored for his or her philanthropic spirit at one of the Center's philanthropy retreats. 

Past Recipients:

  • 2014: Dr. Eugene Tempel, Founding Dean of the School of Philanthropy at Indiana University 
  • 2013: Spike Mendelsohn, Co-owner and Chef of Béarnaise, Good Stuff Eatery and We, The Pizza
  • 2012: J.B. Schramm, Founder and CEO, College Summit,
  • 2010: Les Lenkowsky, Former Chief Executive Officer, Corporation for National and Community Service
  • 2009: Erin Slater (P 99), Chief Executive Office, College Mentors for Kids
  • 2008: Robert Egger, Founder, D.C. Central Kitchen
  • 2007: Robert L. Woodson, Sr., Founder and President of the Center for Neighborhood Enterprise (CNE) and Frank Hanna, CEO of Hanna Capital LLC.
  • 2006: Bonnie McElveen-Hunter, Chairman of American Red Cross
  • 2005: James V. Kimsey, Founding CEO of America Online, Inc.
  • 2004: Eugene Lang, Founder, I have a Dream Foundation and Blanka S. Rosenstiel, American Institute of Polish Culture
  • 2003: Thomas L. Phillips, Chairman, Phillips Publishing International
  • 2002: Foster Friess, Chairman, Brandywine Funds


David R. Jones Lifetime Service Award

The Lifetime Service awards are given annually to honor recipients who have made significant contributions to the advancement of the ideas of freedom and service. These honorees have shown lifetime dedication to the principles of freedom and individual responsibility. 

Past Recipients:

  • 2011: Thomas Armstrong, Sr., President of The Armstrong Foundation
  • 2008: Robert Understein, former TFAS treasurer and longtime trustee
  • 2007: Vice Chairman Michael W. Thompson, Trustee Charles Black, Jr., former Trustee Arnold Steinberg, Georgetown University Dean Michael Collins, and Trustee Bill Hybl.
  • 2006: Don V. Cogman, Trustee Emeritus and Kenneth C. Rietz, member of the TFAS Board of Regents

David R. Jones Lifetime Achievement Award

Past Recipients:

  • 2009: Kenneth Tomlinson, Former Chairman of U.S. Broadcasting Board of Governors and Member of the IPJ Board of Visitors
  • 2008: Gov. Mitch Daniels (Ind.), TFAS trustee emeritus

Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint / EmailGet a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Donate Today


1706 New Hampshire Ave NW,  Washington DC 20009 
Tel 202-986-0384 | Fax 202-986-0390 | info@TFAS.org

COPYRIGHT 2013 The FUND for AMERICAN STUDIES All Rights Reserved
www.TFASinternational.org   www.DCinternships.org