Home|Alumni Login|Contact Us



2015 Walter Judd Freedom Award Recipient, Sen. John McCain, greets TFAS students and answers their questions following his award acceptance remarks.

President of the Atlas Economic and Research Foundation, Dr. Alejandro Chafuen, accepts his 2014 Judd Freedom Award from TFAS President Roger Ream, Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees Michael Thompson and Chairman Randal Teague.

(l.-r.) Mary Anastasia O'Grady of the Wall Street Journal and Otto Reich, former ambassador to Venezuela, accept their 2012 Walter Judd Freedom Award.

The Walter Judd Freedom Award is presented annually to recognize individuals who have advanced the cause of freedom in the United States and abroad, are devoted to the preservation and expansion of freedom, influential in world and national affairs, and are outspoken voices against tyranny and oppression, while embodying the characteristics of self-sacrifice and patriotism. 

One of the founders of The Fund for American Studies, Walter Henry Judd (1898-1994) was one of the leading statesmen and orators of the 20th century. He began his career as a medical missionary in China and was elected to Congress from Minnesota in 1942, where he served for 20 years. He was recognized as a leading expert in Asian affairs and advised every president from Truman to Reagan. President Reagan conferred the Presidential Medal of Freedom upon Judd in 1981.

Past recipients include:

2015: Sen. John McCain of Arizona

2014: Dr. Alejandro Chafuen, President of the Atlas Economic and Research Foundation

2013: Ambassador Paula Dobriansky, Former Under Secretary of State for Democracy and Global Affairs

2012: Mary Anastasia O'Grady, Editorial Board Member and Columnist at the Wall Street Journal
Otto Reich, Former Ambassador to Venezuela

2011: Donald Rumsfeld, Former United States Secretary of Defense

2010: Suzanne Scholte, President of the Defense Forum Foundation

2009: Ambassador John Bolton

2008: Dr. Lee Edwards, chairman of the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation

2007: General Edward L. Rowny, Former Ambassador and LTG USA (Ret.)

2006: U.S. Rep. Henry J. Hyde

2005: Dr. Charles Krauthammer

2004: Dr. Edwin J. Feulner

2002: Dr. George J. Viksnins

2001: U.S. Rep. Philip M. Crane

2000: U.S. Rep. Lincoln Diaz-Balart & Ms. Elena Amos

1999: President Ronald Reagan

1998: U.S. Rep. Frank Wolf

1997: Dr. Harry Wu

1996: The Honorable Jack Kemp

1995: Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick

1994: Mr. William F. Buckley, Jr.


Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint / EmailGet a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Donate Today


1706 New Hampshire Ave NW,  Washington DC 20009 
Tel 202-986-0384 | Fax 202-986-0390 | info@TFAS.org

COPYRIGHT 2013 The FUND for AMERICAN STUDIES All Rights Reserved
www.TFASinternational.org   www.DCinternships.org