Home|Alumni Login|Contact Us


The Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program

novak apply button

TFAS will honor (l.-r.) Bret Baier of Fox News Channel and Andrew Ferguson of The Weekly Standard during the 23rd Annual Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner on May 11. RSVP today to join us for this prestigious event!

Novak Fellow Gracy Olmstead accepts her fellowship award during our 2015 awards dinner. The 2016 recipients will be announced during the 23rd Annual Robert Novak Journalism Awards Dinner on May 11. 

The Fund for American Studies will hold the 23rd Annual Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner at the National Press Club in Washington on Wednesday, May 11, 2016, to introduce this year’s Novak Fellowship winners and honor Andrew Ferguson, senior editor at The Weekly Standard, with the Thomas L. Phillips Career Achievement Award, and Bret Baier, chief political anchor at Fox News Channel and anchor of "Special Report with Bret Baier," with the Kenneth Y. Tomlinson Award for Outstanding Journalism. More than 200 prominent journalists and guests will gather for a gala evening to celebrate the best in American journalism.


Wednesday, May 11, 2016
Reception 6 p.m. | Dinner 7 p.m.

National Press Club
529 14th Street, NW
13th Floor
Washington, DC

Business Attire


Online: www.TFAS.org/NovakDinner
By Phone:
Call 202.986.0384 and ask for Vanessa Henderson to register by phone.

Dinner proceeds support the Novak Fellowship Program. 


Sponsorship opportunities are available. These sponsorships include complimentary registration(s), name or logo recognition in dinner materials, photo opportunities with dinner honorees and more. To learn more, visit our sponsorship form or contact Jeff Hollingsworth at 202-986-0384 or by email at jhollingsworth@TFAS.org.

About The Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program:

The Novak Journalism Fellowship Program was launched in 1994 to nurture a new generation of responsible journalists. Legendary journalist Robert Novak provided the inspiration for the program, which was named in his honor following his passing in 2009. Novak Fellows devote a full year to a journalism project supportive of American culture, a free society and free enterprise.

The Novak program has awarded 130 fellowships over the past two decades to promising young journalists who are climbing the ranks as groundbreaking reporters, editors, editorial page writers, columnists and authors. Novak Fellows include Steve Hayes (AIPES 94, Novak 00) of The Weekly Standard and Fox News, Mollie Hemingway (Novak 04) of The Federalist and Tim Carney (Novak 03) of the Washington Examiner.

How to Apply:

The application period for the 2016-17 Robert Novak Journalism Fellowships has closed. For questions or information on applying for the 2016-17 Novak Fellowships program, please visit our FAQ page or contact Vanessa Henderson at vhenderson@TFAS.org. You can also view a sample application at www.TFAS.org/NovakFellowships/Apply

Stay Connected:

Visit Twitter.com/NovakFellows to follow The Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program's announcements, events and news on social media.


Neal Freeman Tapped to Lead Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Program

22nd Annual Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner: TFAS Presents Fellowships to Young Journalists Who Will Change the Face of Journalism 

View a photo gallery from our 22nd Annual Robert Novak Journalism Fellowship Awards Dinner


Print Friendly Version of this pagePrint / EmailGet a PDF version of this webpagePDF

Donate Today


1706 New Hampshire Ave NW,  Washington DC 20009
Tel 202-986-0384 | Fax 202-986-0390 | info@TFAS.org
© 2015 The FUND for AMERICAN STUDIES All Rights Reserved
www.TFASinternational.org   www.DCinternships.org